Longstaff Prize

View a list of Honours

The Longstaff Prize is awarded by the Royal Society of Chemistry to one of its members who has done the most to advance the science of chemistry. It was formerly known as the Longstaff Medal.

Awarded by Royal Society of Chemistry


The following people are associated with this Honour:

Sir Derek Barton
A Nobel prize winning chemist, whose work on the concept of conformation in chemistry was groundbreaking.

J Monteath Robertson
The founder of organic crystallography.

Sir Alexander Todd Baron Todd of Trumpington
A Nobel prizewinning chemist, honoured for his research on nucleotides and nucleotide co-enzymes.