The Group, as his writing workshops were called, included, in Belfast, such emerging authors as John Bond, Seamus Heaney, Derek Mahon and Bernard MacLaverty. At Glasgow University the nucleus of new authors included Alasdair Gray, Liz Lochhead, James Kelman, Tom Leonard, Aonghas MacNeacail and Jeff Torrington.

In 1995, Hobsbaum was instrumental in the establishment of the highly successful postgraduate programme of awards in Creative Writing within the Department of English Literature.

Philip Hobsbaum, 1983

"the training of a critic is also the training of a citizen."

He was a distinguished critic and poet in his own right, his most highly regarded monographs being A Theory of Communication (1970); Tradition and Experiment in English Poetry(1979); Essentials of Literary Criticism (1983), and Metre, Rhythm and Verse Form (1996). He also wrote on individual authors, Charles Dickens, D.H Lawrence and Robert Lowell and published five collections of his own poetry between 1964 and 1972.